State tourism officials announce finalists for Henry Awards

by Tina Alvey Dale ( 134 views 

Arkansas Tourism recently announced the finalists in for the 2019 Henry Awards.

The Henry Awards honor Henri de Tonti, the man historians consider being among the first “Arkansas Travelers.”

Each year the Henry Awards program recognizes individuals, communities and organizations that have excelled in contributing to the success of Arkansas’s tourism industry.

Winners will be announced at the 45th Annual Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism Feb. 24-26 in Hot Springs.

Arkansas tourism and travel accounts for roughly $7.8 billion in economic activity and employs more than 66,000 workers statewide.

Finalists are:

The Media Support Award, which is presented annually to a distinguished individual or organization for extraordinary attention to and/or support of Arkansas’s tourism industry through the use of media.

  • Gary Jones Video
  • JC Productions
  • John Rech

The Bootstrap Award, which is presented annually to an individual, organization, or community that has achieved significant success “on a shoestring,” having limited means to work with, either in resources or finances.

  • First Friday Monthly Market, Camden
  • Melba Theater, Batesville
  • Zombie Crawl, Eureka Springs

The Arkansas Heritage Award, which is presented annually to an individual, organization, or community that has made a significant contribution toward the preservation of some aspect of Arkansas’s natural, cultural or aesthetic legacy.

  • Arkansas Quilt Trails
  • Edgemont House, North Little Rock
  • George’s Majestic Lounge, Fayetteville

The Grand Old Classic Special Event Award, which is presented annually to a festival, fair or other special celebration that has “stood the test of time” and become an established example to follow.

  • Lum & Abner Festival, Mena
  • Fordyce on the Cottonbelt Festival
  • Old Soldiers Reunion, Mammoth Spring

The Outstanding Volunteer Service Award, which is presented annually to a community, individual or organization that through outstanding volunteer spirit has made a substantial contribution to Arkansas’s tourism industry.

  • Central Arkansas Trail Alliance
  • Ozark Off-Road Cyclists
  • Searcy County Chamber of Commerce

The Community Tourism Development Award, which is presented annually to a community or organization that has achieved substantial success in the enhancement of its local resources through imaginative and innovative development efforts.

  • Discover Siloam Springs
  • Helena Advertising and Promotion Commission
  • Visit Hot Springs

The Natural State Award, which is presented annually to a community, organization, special event or attraction that “stands out in the crowd” because of its unique appeal, media coverage, creative approach and/or enhancement of community pride, thus benefiting the state’s quality of life.

  • 8thStreet Market, Bentonville
  • Fort Smith Bicentennial Celebration
  • Tour ‘da Delta Bicycle Ride, Helena-West Helena

During the Henry Awards ceremony Feb. 26, the Tourism Person of the Year also be announced. The Tourism Person of the Year Award is presented annually to an individual who has been actively involved in tourism and who has made a substantial contribution, within the past year, to the betterment of the tourism industry as a whole.