Monroe County farmer appointed to the United Soybean Board

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 192 views 

Monroe County farmer Jim Carroll has been elected secretary of the United Soybean Board (USB). Carroll, a fourth-generation farmer, previously served the board as a director and chair of the Demand Action Team.

The soy checkoff, which works to maximize profit opportunities for U.S. soybean farmers through national investments, continues focusing on the areas of meal, oil and sustainability to increase farmer profit opportunities.

“Soybeans are the largest row crop in Arkansas and we consistently rank among the top 10 soybean producing states in the country,” Carroll said. “I’m proud to represent soybean producers in our state on a national level, advocating for our industry on a national and international level.”

Carroll’s election to the USB board follows several years of service on the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board. The ASPB consists of soybean producers appointed by the governor and nominated by various producer organizations within Arkansas.

Two other Arkansas soybean farmers serve on the national level. Derek Haigwood, Jackson County, serves as a USB director. Robert Stobaugh, Pope County, serves as a USB director and National Biodiesel Board member.

USB’s 73 farmer-directors work on behalf of U.S. soybean farmers to achieve maximum value for soy checkoff investments. These volunteers invest and leverage checkoff funds in programs and partnerships to drive soybean innovation beyond the bushel and increase preference for U.S. soy. As stipulated in the federal Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act, the USDA Agricultural Marketing Service has oversight responsibilities for USB and the soy checkoff.