American Trucking Associations hires legislative affairs executives

by Talk Business & Politics staff ( 89 views 

American Trucking Associations has hired Ed Gilroy as senior vice president of legislative affairs and Jay Lim as vice president of legislative affairs.

“ATA is recognized in Washington as the most authoritative voice advocating for a pro-safety, pro-efficiency, pro-trucking agenda in Washington,” said Chris Spear, ATA president and CEO. “By adding Ed and Jay to our legislative affairs staff, we are putting ATA in an even stronger position to address the changing needs of our association and our industry.”

Gilroy previously worked for the ATA in legislative affairs roles, including vice president. Before returning to the ATA, he served as director of workforce policy for the House Committee on Education and the Workforce for 15 years.

“My time on the Hill and at ATA has given me a deep appreciation for the work the trucking industry does and the challenges it faces, and I’m happy to be back to help move their agenda forward,” Gilroy said.

Lim previously worked for Sen. Susan Collins (R-Maine) and for the Senate Judiciary Committee. “In my time in the Senate, I’ve had the opportunity to work on several trucking-related issues,” Lim said. “I’m pleased to be joining the ATA team to continue working on those issues and serving this tremendous industry.”

Bill Sullivan, ATA executive vice president of advocacy for ATA, said “over the past year, we have worked to reshape our legislative affairs team while still delivering the advocacy wins our members deserve. I am pleased that Jay and Ed will be joining our team and look forward to celebrating many more victories with them in the months and years to come.”

Gilroy, who lives in Alexandria, Va., has a Bachelor of Science in public affairs from the University of Southern California. Lim lives in Vienna, Va., and has a undergraduate and law degree from Georgetown University and a master’s degree in public administration from Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government.