Wadley Receives Wilson Award

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 76 views 

A Central Arkansas woman studying political science joined 129 other recipients Thursday night (April 7) as the 2016 recipient of one of the oldest awards given at Arkansas State University. Erin Wadley of Sherwood was named as the recipient of the 2016 Wilson Award. Wadley, who was nominated by associate professor of political science Dr. Amy Buzby, said winning the award was an honor.

“I told myself I would not cry, but I am,” Wadley told the crowd. Wadley, who is expected to graduate in May with a bachelor’s degree in political science.

The award, which honors the outstanding graduate of the university each year, was created in 1934 in honor of R.E. Lee Wilson, who grew up in Mississippi County and was a key agricultural pioneer in Northeast Arkansas. In addition to building a town (Wilson) and a 65,000 acre farm and naming two towns in the county (Armorel and Luxora), Wilson Hall on the ASU-Jonesboro campus was dedicated in honor of Wilson, who also served on the ASU Board of Trustees.

According to ASU, the other recipients of the 2016 Distinguished Service Awards at ASU were:

Stephen Berry of Bono was nominated by Dr. Christopher Peters, assistant professor of psychology. Berry is a psychology major and will graduate in May with a grade point average of 3.94.

Bethany Gallimore of Hot Springs, who was nominated by Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Communication Dr. Marceline Thompson-Hayes. Gallimore is majoring in communication studies and English, and will graduate in May with a 3.98 GPA.

Brandon Haley of Marion was nominated by Beverly Parker, coordinator and assistant professor of health sciences. A health-studies major, Haley has a 3.53 grade point average; he will earn his Bachelor of Science degree in May.

Brooks Jones of Monticello was nominated by Mark Lewis, instructor in business law. Holding a double major in accounting and finance, Jones currently maintains a 4.00 grade point average and will graduate in May. Jones is an honors student and member of the ASU Honors College.

Amber Ray of Little Rock was nominated by Lori Hailey, assistant professor of nursing. Ray, who will receive a Bachelor of Science degree in May, is a nursing major with a 3.410 GPA.

Jennifer Walker of Maumelle was nominated by Dr. Dixie Keyes, associate professor of middle-level education. Walker, who is majoring in middle-level education, math and science, maintains a 4.0 grade point average and plans to graduate with honors in May.

Other winners of the award were U.S. District Judge Price Marshall (1985), Circuit Judge Tommy Fowler Jr. (1993) and ASU Vice President for Governmental Relations Shane Broadway (1994).