ASU announces 2016 Distinguished Service award winners

by Talk Business ([email protected]) 38 views 

Seven students will receive Arkansas State University’s Distinguished Service Award, and one of them will become the recipient of the R.E. Lee Wilson Award, the university’s highest student honor, when they are feted at a recognition dinner Thursday (April 7) at 6 p.m. in the Cooper Alumni Center on the ASU campus.

The announcement comes during the ASU Convocation of Scholars, an annual celebration of academic achievement that includes college and departmental awards and recognition events. The Distinguished Service award winners are recognized as the institution’s most-outstanding graduates because of their leadership, scholarship and citizenship. Faculty, staff, advisers to student organizations and other members of the campus community submit nominations for the awards.

Winners of the 2016 Distinguished Service Awards are:

Stephen Berry of Bono was nominated by Dr. Christopher Peters, assistant professor of psychology. Berry is a psychology major and will graduate in May with a grade point average of 3.94. Berry works as an undergraduate research assistant for the social attitudes and political psychology laboratory and has conducted his own research on morality. He has made a presentation at the Arkansas Symposium for Psychology Students.

Bethany Gallimore of Hot Springs, who was nominated by Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Communication Dr. Marceline Thompson-Hayes. Gallimore is majoring in communication studies and English, and will graduate in May with a 3.98 GPA. Gallimore has won numerous accolades for news, feature, sports and headline writing, radio news reporting, and as a member of A-State’s award-winning debate team as both an individual and team debater. She has worked as a sports and studio videographer.

Brandon Haley of Marion was nominated by Beverly Parker, coordinator and assistant professor of health sciences. A health-studies major, Haley has a 3.53 grade point average; he will earn his Bachelor of Science degree in May. His goal is to work as a community-health educator. He is active in leadership activities, including serving as president pro temp of Brother 2 Brother, an organization to employ strategies to recruit and retain African-American and minority male students to A-State, cultural-diversity director of the Student Government Association, a student-support services mentor and a member of the Student Activities Board.

Brooks Jones of Monticello was nominated by Mark Lewis, instructor in business law. Holding a double major in accounting and finance, Jones currently maintains a 4.00 grade point average and will graduate in May. Jones is an honors student and member of the A-State Honors College. Jones spent seven days in Belize in 2015 as one of nine global student leaders to help prepare themselves in challenging and diverse ways to become more productive global citizens.

Amber Ray of Little Rock was nominated by Lori Hailey, assistant professor of nursing. Ray, who will receive a Bachelor of Science degree in May, is a nursing major with a 3.410 GPA. Her academic awards and honors include induction into the Trio Hall of Fame, Homecoming court in 2014, Strong Turner alumni 3.0, Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority academic achievement award from 2013-present and global student leader who represented Arkansas State in Ireland, Croatia and Montenegro.

Jennifer Walker of Maumelle was nominated by Dr. Dixie Keyes, associate professor of middle-level education. Walker, who is majoring in middle-level education, math and science, maintains a 4.0 grade point average and plans to graduate with honors in May. She is currently working on her thesis, “Trekking the Globe through Travel Trade Books.” She is the author of a nonfiction children’s book about Belize.

Erin Wadley of Sherwood was nominated by Dr. Amy Buzby, associate professor of political science. Wadley is majoring in political science and maintains a 3.874 grade point average. She is expected to graduate in May with a Bachelor of Arts degree. Graduating in the top 10 percent of her class with perfect 4.0 GPA for four consecutive semesters, Wadley’s academic achievements involve National Society of Collegiate Scholars inclusion, being a six-time member of the Chancellor’s List and recipient of the above-average Greek woman’s GPA from 2012-15. She also appeared in advertisements for the Arkansas Scholarship Lottery.

Facebook Comments