Rep. Womack Supports Paul Ryan For U.S. House Speaker

by Talk Business and Politics ([email protected]) 156 views 

The announcement Tuesday night that U.S. Rep. Paul Ryan, R-Wisc., will consider running for House Speaker drew the support of one of four Arkansas members of the U.S. House.

“Now more than ever, it’s imperative that Republicans come together to steer America down a more conservative path. Our dysfunction has all but prevented this, and we are at risk of allowing President Obama’s liberal legacy to become our own,” U.S. Rep. Steve Womack, R-Rogers, said in a statement. “We need a leader who can unite us and help turn the course of our country around, and Paul Ryan is the right person for the job. I fully support his candidacy.”

However, there was some question as to whether or not Ryan will take the job. Ryan told House Republicans during a meeting at the Capitol late Tuesday (Oct. 20) he would consider taking the job if all groups of House Republicans support his candidacy.

“This is not a job I ever sought; this is not a job I ever wanted,” he told the Washington Post. “I came to the conclusion that this was a dire moment.”

After he met with House Republicans, Ryan, who chairs the House Ways and Means Committee, said he would like to see House Republicans go from “being an opposition party to being a proposition party,” the newspaper reported.

The announcement also led to U.S. Rep. Jason Chaffetz, R-Utah, announcing he was endorsing Ryan. Chaffetz has been considered a contender for the high-profile job.

“Right person at the right time,” Chaffetz said on Twitter.

U.S. Rep. Bill Huizenga, R-Mich., said on Twitter that the issue was far from being settled.

“I think we have white smoke, with conditions …. #RunPaulRun,” Huizenga said on Twitter.

The House Speaker election is set for Oct. 29.

The post became open after House Speaker John Boehner, R-Ohio, announced Sept. 25 his intention to step down at the end of October.  Boehner, who was first elected to Congress in 1990, was re-elected to his 13th term in November 2014. He became Speaker of the House in 2011.