Rep. Gray Elected House Minority Leader

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 53 views 

The House Democratic Caucus Friday elected Rep. Michael John Gray of Augusta as House minority leader, the party announced. Also, Rep. David Whitaker of Fayetteville was elected House minority whip, and Rep. Bob Johnson of Jacksonville was elected caucus treasurer.
Gray represents House District 47, which includes Newport and parts of Jackson County, all of Woodruff County, and portions of White and Independence counties.
Gray, who replaces Rep. Eddie Armstrong of Little Rock, serves on the Joint Committee on Advanced Communications and Information Technology; the City, County and Local Affairs Committee; and the Education Committee.A farmer, he co-owns Wakefield Partners, a Woodruff County farming operation growing cotton, corn, wheat, rice, peanuts and other products.

He earned a law degree at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. He served two terms as a city councilman prior to become a state representative. He and wife Amy are the parents one of a one-year-old son.