Gov. Hutchinson Makes Appointments To Boards, Higher Ed

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 166 views 

Gov. Asa Hutchinson announced the following appointments:

David Nelson, Magnolia, to the Southern Arkansas University Board of Trustees. Appointment expires January 14, 2020. Replaces James Freeman.

Jay Brain, Rogers, to the Arkansas Department of Aeronautics Commission. Appointment expires November 9, 2019. Replaces Marion Burton.

Chris Weiser, Magnolia, reappointment to the Oil and Gas Commission. Appointment expires February 20, 2021.

James Freeman, Texarkana, appointment to the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. Appointment expires January 14, 2019. Replaces Stephen Edwards.

Stan Green, Fayetteville, appointment to Arkansas Development Finance Authority. Appointment expires January 14, 2019. Replaces William Cone.

Sarah Capp, Ozark, Special Associate Justice to Arkansas Supreme Court.

James Arnold II, Fort Smith, Special Associate Justice to Arkansas Supreme Court.

Warren Dupwe, Jonesboro, Special Associate Justice to Arkansas Supreme Court.

Steve Goode, Vilonia, Director of Arkansas Tobacco Control

Also, Hutchinson announced that former State Rep. Ann Clemmer will serve as Senior Associate Director at the Arkansas Department of Higher Education. Clemmer will serve under the leadership of new ADHE director Brett Powell, who was chosen for the post this week.

Hutchinson also announced that Arkansas’ Director of Rural Services Amy Fecher will serve as his designee and alternate to the Delta Regional Authority’s board of governors.

Fecher will represent Governor Hutchinson at DRA meetings, interact with the agency’s staff and leadership, and advise DRA leadership on state needs and investments.

The DRA board is composed of the governors of each of the eight states covered by the DRA footprint. Each governor is afforded the option to select a designee and alternate to represent him on the board.