Political Notebook: Westerman, Rutledge Name Key Staffers

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 354 views 

Cong.-elect Bruce Westerman and Attorney General-elect Leslie Rutledge named key staff personnel for their new offices.

Westerman, R-Hot Springs, announced the following hires for his Fourth District office in Washington, D.C.

Jonathan Shuffield of Washington, D.C. has been named Legislative Director. A graduate of the University of Texas, Shuffield currently serves as the Executive Director of the Congressional Western Caucus and as a Legislative Assistant to Rep. Steve Pearce (NM-02). Shuffield served as a Little Rock-based Field Representative for the McCain/Palin campaign in 2008. His portfolio will include issues related to the Committee on Natural Resources that Westerman will serve on in the 114th Congress.

Michael A. Lambert of Conway will serve as a Legislative Assistant. A graduate of the University of Central Arkansas, Lambert most recently served as Political Director for the Westerman campaign and served in senior roles in the Arkansas GOP Victory programs in 2008, 2010, and 2012. He also worked in the Water Transfer Division of Southwestern Energy from 2012-2013. Lambert will primarily work on Budget Committee issues for Westerman.

Jefferson D. Deming of El Dorado will also serve as a Legislative Assistant. A graduate of Vanderbilt University with a focus on international relations, Deming most recently served as the Texarkana Field Director for the 2014 Arkansas GOP Victory program. Deming also served as a finance coordinator at the National Republican Senatorial Committee, in the office of former Majority Leader Eric Cantor, and abroad as part of Manna Project International in Ecuador.

Victoria L. Bell of Mena will serve as a Legislative Correspondent. A graduate of Washington and Lee University, Bell is currently a Program Associate for Trustee Affairs at the American Council of Trustees and Alumni. Bell will oversee Westerman’s Washington-based college intern program.

J. Cody Burkham of Hope will also serve as a Legislative Correspondent. A graduate of Southern Arkansas University, Burkham most recently served as a Field Director for the Westerman campaign and has previously interned in the office of First District Congressman Rick Crawford. A former salesman at Southwest Arkansas Equipment in Hope, Burkham will also serve as Agricultural Liaison.

Westerman previously announced that Ryan James would serve as his chief of staff.

Attorney General-elect Leslie Rutledge has also named a chief of staff and legislative director.

On Wednesday, Rutledge named Carl Vogelpohl of Little Rock as Chief of Staff and Cory Cox of Maumelle as Legislative Director for her administration.

Carl Vogelpohl is the former Chief of Staff and District Director for Congressman Tim Griffin. He served as the senior advisor for Rutledge’s successful bid for Attorney General and was selected to organize and lead her transition team.

Cory Cox currently serves as the Deputy Chief Counsel of the Department of Human Services. Prior to that he was Staff Attorney and Legislative Affairs Liaison for Land Commissioner John Thurston. His legislative experience includes work as Deputy Chief Counsel for Governor Mike Huckabee and serving as his Legislative Counsel during the 2003 regular session.

Rutledge previously named Julie Benafield as Chief Deputy Attorney General.