Gov. Beebe Replaces Maggio, Appoints 10 To Boards And Commissions

by Stephanie Baker ([email protected]) 134 views 

Gov. Mike Beebe appointed Michael Murphy of Conway as Circuit Judge in the 2nd Division Court of the 20th Judicial District for an appointment that will expire December 31, 2014. Murphy replaces Michael Maggio, who was removed from office by the Arkansas Supreme Court after he agreed to never serve as a judge again.

Maggio was accused of breaching confidentiality in a child adoption case, making improper comments as an acting judge, and trying to cover up evidence in the investigation of his actions.

Beebe also announced the following appointments to state boards and commissions:

Dr. Timothy Calicott, Little Rock, reappointed to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council. Appointment expires July 1, 2017.

David Hendrix, Antoine, to the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board. Appointment expires January 14, 2018. Replaces Marilyn Matthews.

Beverly Jones, Little Rock, to the Capitol Zoning District Commission. Appointment expires August 13, 2017. Replaces Ralph Vines.

Michael Jones, Dumas, reappointed to the University of Arkansas at Monticello Board of Visitors. Appointment expires July 31, 2017.

Dr. Samantha McKelvey, Little Rock, to the Arkansas Commission for Newborn Umbilical Cord Blood Initiative. Appointment expires September 4, 2018. Replaces Dr. Curtis Lowery.

Dr. Jessica Newman, Little Rock, to the Universal Newborn Hearing, Screening, Tracking and Intervention Advisory Board. Appointment expires January 14, 2017. Replaces Dr. Lisa Christensen.

Robert Reynolds, El Dorado, reappointed to the Arkansas Museum of Natural Resources Advisory Committee. Appointment expires July 31, 2019.

Dr. Tommy Roebuck, Arkadelphia, reappointed to the Children’s Behavioral Health Care Commission. Appointment expires August 15, 2017.

Travis Senter, Sr., Osceola, to the Boll Weevil Eradication Committee. Appointment expires July 1, 2016. Replaces Bobby Gammill.