Contested Mayors’ Races Reach 30 In Northeast Arkansas

by Michael Wilkey ([email protected]) 212 views 

A pair of Craighead County mayors’ races developed Monday, while a fifth candidate filed for mayor at Parkin in Cross County.

Kenny Pillow filed Monday to seek the Bono mayor’s office. Pillow is joined in the race by Danny C. Shaw, who filed earlier in the period.

As of Monday, incumbent Billy Stephens had not filed to seek another term, election officials said.

Kevin Tucker also filed Monday to run for mayor in Caraway, in the eastern half of the county. Tucker joins incumbent Barry Riley, who filed last week, in the race.

To the south in Poinsett County, the Trumann City Clerk/Treasurer’s race became a crowded field Monday.

Molly Halsey turned in paperwork Monday to seek the office currently held by Marlene Hancock. Hancock and a third candidate, Vicki Shipp, filed last week.

James L. Hall Jr. filed Monday to run for Parkin mayor. Hall joins Tyrone Smith, A.J. Christian, Willie Patterson and Prongue S. Griffin in seeking the seat for the town, located halfway between Marion and Wynne.

One other mayor’s race developed Monday. Larry Fowler filed for Ash Flat mayor, joining Danny Traw in seeking the seat.

So far, there are at least 30 contested mayors races in Northeast Arkansas this year.

The following candidates also filed Monday for municipal races in Northeast Arkansas.

Craighead County
Phillip Van Winkle (Bay City Council, Ward 2, Position 1)
Tim Jones (Black Oak City Council, At-Large)
Beth Montgomery-McLeod (Cash City Council, At-Large)

Cross County
Billy Joe Proctor (Hickory Ridge Mayor)
Carolyn R. Slaughter (Parkin City Council, Ward 3, Position 2)

Independence County
Tina Burns (Cushman City Council, Position 3)
Sarah Mitchum Morgan (Moorefield City Council, Position 4)
Russell Moyer (Sulphur Rock City Council, Position 5)

Poinsett County
Regina Hindman (Tyronza City Council, Ward 3, Position 2)
Tony Schwarz (Weiner City Council, Ward 1, Position 1)
Reagan Greeno Bodeker (Weiner City Council, Ward 2, Position 1)

Sharp County
Gary Jackson (Ash Flat City Council, Ward 2, Position 2)
Ronald Burge (Cave City Mayor)
Eddie D. Johnson (Cave City City Council, Ward 2, Position 2)
Richard Hawkins II (Cave City City Council, Ward 3, Position 1)
David Harris (Highland City Council, Ward 3, Position 1)
Leonard Wiles (Williford City Council, Position 3)

The filing period continues Tuesday and goes until noon Friday.