Newton hired as president of the Arkansas Trucking Association

by The City Wire staff ([email protected]) 62 views 

Shannon Newton was named as the new president of the Arkansas Trucking Association (ATA) replacing long-time leader Lane Kidd, who resigned earlier this year.

Newton has been with the ATA since 2003 and has served as vice-president of the organization since 2008. She will assume her duties immediately.

“When we began our search for a new president, we knew that an experienced leader with deep industry knowledge and a broad skill set was exactly what we needed,” said Craig Harper, ATA Chairman of the Board and EVP/COO of J.B. Hunt Transport, Inc. “Shannon is a dynamic leader and extremely knowledgeable on the complex issues faced by our members. The board was unanimous in this appointment. She became the clear choice to lead the Arkansas Trucking Association forward.”

Today, the Arkansas Trucking Association represents about 300 trucking companies, private carrier fleets and industry suppliers.  The transportation industry is responsible for around 86,000 direct jobs.

“I am honored and humbled to have been chosen to lead the ATA,” said Newton. “The Arkansas trucking industry is a recognized national leader. My years with the association, working on behalf of this great industry, the member companies and the thousands of dedicated, professional men and women, in the cab and out, have been so rewarding. I welcome the opportunity as president to continue to work with the ATA’s extraordinary and dedicated staff and with these extraordinary members to help drive our industry’s growth.”

Since joining ATA, Newton has filled a range of leadership roles with expanded responsibilities in the development and implementation of strategic initiatives across core areas including Planning, Finance, Member Services, Governance, Regulatory and Legislative Affairs and Advocacy.

She has had held a number of association and national industry leadership positions and serves as chair of the Trucking Association’s Insurance Council.