Grants Handed Out To 16 Communities

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 139 views 

Sixteen Arkansas cities and counties will receive $3.3 million in Community Development Block Grants Funds from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

The grants will be administered by the Arkansas Economic Development Commission’s Grants Division.

To be eligible for CDBG funds, communities must have a population of less than 50,000 and a majority of households earning low to moderate incomes.

The projects include the following cities:

Alma, senior center, $203,000
Cave City, childcare center, $325,000
Cove, street improvement/drainage, $150,382
Crawfordsville, library, $99,000
Dewitt, neighborhood facility, $213,220
Harrison, community center, $78,000
Jericho, road/street improvements, $216,000
Marianna, road/street improvements, $212,000
Morrilton, senior center, $203,000

And the following counties:

Columbia County, childcare center, $165,000
Dallas County, senior center, $203,000
Dallas County, neighborhood facility, $216,000
Hempstead County, public health facility, $325,000
Lonoke County, neighborhood facility, $216,000
Saline County, neighborhood facility, $216,000
Stone County, food pantry, $60,000
Woodruff County, senior center, $203,000