Beebe makes appoints to UA Board, State Police Commission

by The City Wire staff ([email protected]) 120 views 

Gov. Mike Beebe has appointed John “Reynie” Rutledge of Searcy to the University of Arkansas Board of Trustees and Bob Burns of Little Rock to the Arkansas State Police Commission.

Rutledge, 63, is chairman and CEO of First Security Bank. He earned his undergraduate and master's degrees from the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville, and serves on both the Walton College Executive Advisory Board and the UAMS Foundation Board. His wife and three sons are all graduates of the University of Arkansas, as well.

Rutledge’s appointment expires March 1, 2017. He replaces John Tyson.

Burns, 68, is the chairman and CEO of Farmer's Bank and Trust, based in Magnolia.

Currently the president of the Arkansas State Police Foundation, Burns also served 23 years in the U.S. Army and U.S. Army Reserve, retiring with the rank of Colonel. A graduate of both Henderson State University and the University of Arkansas, Burns has also served on the Arkansas Higher Education Coordination Board.

Burns’ appointment expires January 14, 2020. He replaces Steve Smith.