Eurekan gets Arkansas Arts Council’s Lifetime Achievement Award

by The City Wire staff ([email protected]) 106 views 

LITTLE ROCK – The Arkansas Arts Council on Monday (June 9) announced that Eureka Springs watercolorist Zeek Taylor is the recipient of this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Fort Smith Symphony conductor John Jeter will receive a Governor’s Arts Award for Individual Artist, and Clayton Scott of Fayetteville will be recognized with an Arts in Education Award.

Each year, the Arkansas Arts Council uses the Governor’s Arts Awards to recognize individuals and corporations for their outstanding contributions to the arts in Arkansas.

The recipients were nominated by the public and then selected by an independent panel of arts professionals from around the state. Each recipient will receive an original work of art created by glass artists Charles and Michael Riley of Hot Springs, owners of Riley Art Glass Studio in Hot Springs. An awards luncheon is expected this fall.