Leadership Fort Smith set to graduate new class

by The City Wire staff ([email protected]) 122 views 

The Leadership Fort Smith 2012 Commencement Banquet and Community Leadership Awards Ceremony is set for May 10, 2012.

The event will be held at the Fort Smith Convention Center, Hall A, with the reception beginning at 6 p.m., and dinner at 6:45 p.m.

The banquet will honor the Leadership Fort Smith Class of 2012.

During the banquet, the Jack White Leadership Fort Smith Award will be presented to Sam M. Sicard, posthumously, and accepted by Sam T. Sicard. Also, the Community Leadership Awards will be presented in the following categories to:
Bennie Westphal — Business and Industry
Stacey Jones — Education
Dr. Larry Pearce — Healthcare
Rick Foti — Non-profit
Dr. Edward Saucier — Religion

The purpose of Leadership Fort Smith is to provide a program that will build a competent leadership pool for the Greater Fort Smith Region, motivate emerging and existing leaders, and develop the participants for community leadership and decision-making by exposing them to the realities, opportunities, and problems in our metropolitan area.

Each year 25 individuals are selected to participate in the year-long Leadership Fort Smith program. The Leadership Fort Smith program is designed for individuals who want to make a difference in the region. As an issues-oriented program, Leadership Fort Smith broadens participants’ perspectives, examines community issues, expands opportunities to develop friendships from all segments of the region, and strengthens leadership skills. Selected participants have a unique opportuity to work with area CEOs, professionals, elected officials, and other fellow leaders as they address community concerns.

Members of the Class of 2012 are as follows:
Donna Bragg    Sparks, Health System
Karen Cardwell, First National Bank
Scott Chambers, Fort Smith Housing Authority
Rob Coleman, ERC Properties Inc.
Bob Cooper, R.H. Ghan Commercial Properties
Marcia Davis, Arvest Bank
Susan Devero, University of Arkansas at Fort Smith
Sasha Grist, Western Arkansas Planning and Development District
Rhonda Harper, Fort Smith Police Department
Jim Harris, Bost, Inc.
Kandice Harshaw, USA Truck, Inc.
Cliff James, Littlefield Oil Company
Joel James, St. Edward Mercy Medical Center
Keith Lau, Weichert King Realty Group
Bob Morgan, Custom Computer Source
Kendall Price, Humana Inc.
Kevin Ridgley, Anderson-Martin Machine Company
Jill Rowland, BancorpSouth
Pam Siebenmorgen, Fort Smith Public Schools
Jeff Smith, Fort Smith Regional Chamber of Commerce
Lea Taylor, What If Creative
Kevin Thompson, Community Bible Church
Jeff Turner, Sebastian County Judge’s Office
Micki Voelkel, University of Arkansas at Fort Smith
Whitney Yoder, Fort Smith Regional Chamber of Commerce