Eureka Springs joins Main Street Arkansas network

by The City Wire staff ([email protected]) 117 views 

Eureka Springs has joined the Main Street Arkansas network of cities actively revitalizing their historic commercial cores, and Warren, Clarksville, Wynne and Arkadelphia have joined the Arkansas Downtown Network (ADN).

Main Street Arkansas Director Cary Tyson announced the municipal additions on Wednesday (May 9). Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

“We are excited about this opportunity to work with these cities as they seek to revitalize their downtowns,” Tyson said. “Eureka Springs has graduated from ADN membership to full-fledged Main Street status, and membership in the ADN will provide our new partners in those programs with an opportunity for downtown professionals to share solutions to common downtown issues.”

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state’s downtown areas. The Main Street approach to downtown revitalization focuses on four areas: design, economic restructuring, organization and promotion.

Among the services and benefits ADN cities receive are access to Main Street Arkansas’s quarterly trainings, organizational assistance, limited technical assistance from Main Street staff members, and access to the Main Street resource center.

Cities involved in Main Street Arkansas are Batesville, Blytheville, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Hardy, Helena, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Pine Bluff, Heber Springs, Fort Smith, DeWitt, Morrilton, Walnut Ridge, Rector, Jonesboro, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren and Wynne.

Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are the Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission.