Libertarians Nominate Slate Of State Candidates, Including All 4 Congressional Seats

by Roby Brock ([email protected]) 147 views 

On Saturday (April 14), the Libertarian Party of Arkansas (LPAR) nominated candidates for the 2012 election cycle during their state convention.

The group nominated candidates to run in all four Congressional districts as well as candidates in several statewide and local races.

The Libertarian Party of Arkansas was certified as a new political party by the Secretary of State in 2011 after submitting more than 16,000 signatures of registered voters. It is the first time in history that the LPAR has met the ballot access requirements to run candidates for any office other than President, the group said in a press release.

In Arkansas, new political parties choose their candidates at a nominating convention rather than in a primary.

“We are thrilled that every Arkansan will have at least two Libertarians on their ballot this year,” said Chairman Rodger Paxton of Marion. “We will not have to compromise and choose the lesser of two evils, but can finally vote on principles that include true freedom and liberty in every aspect of our lives.”

Paxton said Libertarians advocate lower taxes, more personal freedom and less government intervention.

Among the LPAR’s nominated candidates:

1st District House: Jessica Paxton, Marion
2nd District House: Chris Hayes, Little Rock
3rd District House: David Pangrac, Van Buren
4th District House: Robert “Bobby” Tullis, Mineral Springs

State Senate District 13: Frank Gilbert, Tull
State Senate District 25: David Dinwiddie, Pine Bluff
State Senate District 31: Glen Schwarz, Little Rock
State Representative District 51: Rodger Paxton, Marion

Saline County Judge: Gordon Hall, Bryant
Constable, Sebastian County Upper Township: Steve Jones, Fort Smith
Crawford County Justice of the Peace: Crystal Pangrac, Van Buren
Constable, Henderson Township: William “Bill” House, Bonnerdale

In order for the LPAR to retain ballot access for 2014, the Libertarian presidential nominee must have 3% of the vote in Arkansas. If the Libertarian presidential nominee earns less than 3%, the LPAR will be required to gather 10,000 valid signatures from registered voters in order to run candidates in 2014.

The Libertarian Party of Arkansas is a state affiliate of the National Libertarian Party.