Rose Law Firm commemorates 200th anniversary with philanthropic effort

by Roby Brock ([email protected]) 1,223 views 

What’s the oldest business in Arkansas to do for its 200th anniversary? How about give away money as it enters a third century of operation.

The Rose Law Firm, founded in 1820 before Arkansas was a state, celebrated its 200th anniversary on Sunday (Nov. 1) at its Little Rock office. The full-service business law firm also has an office in Fayetteville.

For the historic milestone, the firm announced it would launch a $200,000 philanthropic initiative to help seven organizations. They include:

  • Arkansas Access to Justice
  • Center for Arkansas Legal Services
  • Legal Aid of Arkansas
  • University of Arkansas at Fayetteville School of Law
  • UA Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law
  • Arkansas Bar Association
  • Arkansas Arts Center

“For two hundred years, Rose Law Firm has been committed to our clients, employees, and the communities we serve,” said Robyn Allmendinger, managing member. “In this spirting of gratitude, today, I am pleased to announce our philanthropic initiative in honor of this anniversary, with gifts totaling $200,000 to benefit legal aid and nonprofit organizations in our state.”

“As we enter our third century of business, our attorneys’ and staff’s attention to civility and professionalism, which are benchmarks of our profession, has allowed our firm to reach this landmark anniversary,” said Brian Rosenthal, 200th Anniversary Chairman, member and immediate past president of the Arkansas Bar Association.

Former Rose Law Firm members include two Chief Justices and two Associate Justices of the Arkansas Supreme Court, one President of the American Bar Association, seven Presidents of the Arkansas Bar Association, four Presidents of the Pulaski County Bar Associations, two namesakes of counties in Arkansas, two U.S. Senators and one First Lady of the United States and U.S. Secretary of State.

In attendance at Sunday’s announcement were U.S. Rep. French Hill, R-Little Rock, Mayor Frank Scott of Little Rock, and Arkansas Secretary of Commerce Mike Preston.