Lyon College expands the Lamar Williamson Prize

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 200 views 

Jim and Carole Williamson have made a $25,000 gift to the Lamar Williamson Prize for Excellence in Teaching, increasing the annual award amount from $2,500 to $3,500. This increase allows the award to now not only benefit the recipient but also Lyon students.

The recipient traditionally wins a silver cup and a personal stipend of $2,500. Now, he or she will also receive an additional $1,000 to conduct a creative project or activity with students in addition to giving the annual Williamson Prize lecture in the spring.

The Williamson Prize is awarded annually to a Lyon faculty member whose accomplishments as a teacher and a scholar, personal character and service to church and community make him or her deserving of such an honor. Nominations are solicited from faculty and students and a Williamson Prize Selection Committee recommends a recipient to the Board of Trustees for its approval at its spring meeting.

Jim and Carole Williamson have added funds to the award over the years.

“We feel honored to be able to do so,” Jim said.

“The Williamsons are a wonderful example of a greater community of people throughout the region who, over the years, have recognized the exceptional quality of the teaching and learning that takes place at Lyon College,” said Vice President for Advancement Dr. David Hutchison, “They are committed to supporting ways in which we can both enhance and celebrate that.”

Carole is glad the award will directly benefit both faculty and students. She looks forward to seeing the new student project component in action.

“It’s nice to see it go directly to the students because it will help their educational goals,” she said.

The Lamar Williamson Prize for Faculty Excellence was established in 1979 in memory of Lamar Williamson of Monticello. Williamson was a noted lawyer, businessman, civic and Presbyterian Church leader and a lifelong friend and trustee of Lyon College, which he attended from 1901 to 1903.

J. Gaston Williamson of Little Rock originally started the prize and named it for his father. Gaston Williamson was an attorney and civic leader, a Rhodes Scholar.