Connections: Women law students honor alumnae with annual award

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 278 views 

The head of Walmart Inc.’s legal department was one of two alumnae honored recently by the University of Arkansas School of Law.

Karen Roberts, the retailer’s executive vice president and general counsel, was presented with the Gayle Pettus Pontz Award by the law school’s Women’s Law Student Association, known as WLSA to law school students and alumni. Christy D. Jones, a trial attorney in Mississippi, was also honored.

The honor recognizes those who best represent the accomplishments of women and the legal community as a whole, according to the UA. The award is given annually, and a joint reception is held on alternate years. Roberts and Jones are the 2019 and 2020 awardees, respectively.

The award was established in 1985 to honor the first woman graduate of the UA’s law school in 1937.

Anas “Al” Massri
Employer: NorthWest Arkansas Community College
Title: vice president of finance and administration
Previous employer: Missouri University of Science & Technology
Previous title: assistant vice chancellor for fiscal services

Garth Sears
Employer: Sam’s Club
Title: marketing project manager, business analytics and insight
Previous employer: Ignite Technologies
Previous title: lead research analyst and project manager

Angie Cooper
Employer: Heartland Forward
Title: executive director, Heartland Summit
Previous employer: Walmart Inc.
Previous title: senior director of global public policy

Janet Foxman
Employer: University of Arkansas Press
Title: managing editor
Previous employer: Oxford University Press
Previous title: senior production editor

Banking & Finance
Mark Forbis
Employer: Jack Henry & Associates
Title: executive vice president, chief technology officer (retired)
Appointment: Citizens Bank
Organization: board of directors

Jake Haak
Employer: Rogers Public Schools
Title: chief financial officer
Award: Administrator of the Year Award
Organization: Arkansas Association of School Business Officials