Arkansas State University names its five emerging alumni award winners

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 457 views 

The Arkansas State University Alumni Association and Student Philanthropy Council have selected the first recipients of the Emerging Young Alumni award, a new recognition for ASU’s young alumni, their professional accomplishments, and engagement with the university. Individuals designated as Emerging Young Alumni are those who, through their personal participation, have made significant contributions to ASU, their profession or their community, according to the school.

The five will be recognized at the inaugural Emerging Young Alumni Awards Reception Friday (Sept. 20) starting at 6 p.m. in the Cooper Alumni Center.

Here are recipients for 2019:

Cale Block, a Poinsett County native, graduated summa cum laude with University Honors in 2004, then earned his juris doctor degree at the UALR William H. Bowen School of Law in 2007. After joining Barber Law Firm in 2012, he became an owner in 2017 and was named to the firm’s three-person management committee in 2018.

Block has been involved with Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Arkansas since 2008 and is a member of the Downtown Little Rock Kiwanis Club. He regularly presents continuing education legal seminars, and was named to Super Lawyers’ Mid-South Rising Stars list. Block continues his ASU support as a member of the Alumni Association and the Chancellor’s Cabinet.

Dr. Catherine Rasberry is a health scientist in the Division of Adolescent and School Health at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). In her 12 years at CDC, Rasberry has conducted a wide range of research and evaluation projects on school health topics; her work has become the foundation of the technical assistance she provides to school districts across the country seeking to improve the health and well-being of their students.

Rasberry has authored more than 80 national scientific presentations and more than 40 publications, including peer-reviewed scientific articles, book chapters and government reports. A Jonesboro native, Rasberry earned her bachelor’s degree in health promotion at ASU in 2001, then a master’s degree in health promotion from Purdue University and a Ph.D. in health education from Texas A&M University.

Katrina (Kat) Scoggin, a native of Stuttgart, was a President’s Scholarship recipient at ASU. She earned a bachelor of science degree in journalism and graduated cum laude with university honors in 2003.

Scoggin serves as the Memphis team lead for GlynnDevins, Inc., a marketing and advertising agency headquartered in Kansas City. She is active with Carnival Memphis, The Grand Krewe of Ptolemy, and Memphis Runners Track Club. Scoggin maintains her ties to ASU through her membership in the A-State Alumni Association while supporting the Honors College medallions campaign and the Red Wolves Foundation.

Rep. Jamie Scott, a North Little Rock native, is a member of the Arkansas House of Representatives, serving District 37. She serves as vice-chair of the House Constitutional Issues Subcommittee and member of the Juvenile Justice and Child Support Committee, House Judiciary Committee, and House State Agencies & Governmental Affairs Committee. She is the youngest African American woman ever elected to the General Assembly.

Scott serves as the executive director of Youth Services, leading summer and out-of-school youth programs. She holds a bachelor of arts in criminology and sociology and a master of arts in criminal justice from ASU, where she was a Presidential Leadership Scholar, and is an executive education graduate of Harvard Kennedy School of Government. Dedicating time to community service and civic activism, Scott has been recognized by numerous organizations for her contributions.

Ali Sugg, a native of Clinton, is an ASU graduate with a bachelor of science degree in radio-TV and minor in marketing. In 2016 ,she built the only full power FM radio station licensed to Heber Springs and Cleburne County, and is now owner/general manager of Red River Radio, Inc., and a morning show personality on KSUG. Before building KSUG she was sales manager for her father’s radio stations, and she enjoys teaching dance at her mother’s studio.

She is a member of the Heber Springs City Council, president of the Arkansas Broadcasters Association, and a board member for ASU-Heber Springs Development Council, the Heber Springs Chamber Foundation, and the Heber Springs Future Fund. Her station has received multiple community service awards from the Arkansas Broadcasters Association.

Facebook Comments