Siloam Springs voters to choose at least 2 new city directors

by Jeff Della Rosa ( 487 views 

Siloam Springs will have at least two new city directors as the incumbents who serve wards 1 and 4 did not file for their respective positions.

The city of 16,842 in southwest Benton County was the only Northwest Arkansas city with a noon Thursday (May 31) filing deadline for candidates running for city office. The filing period for elected positions for other cities in Washington and Benton counties runs from noon July 27 to noon Aug. 17.

Siloam Springs has a city administrator form of government and seven members who serve on its Board of Directors. This year, voters will decide who will serve in the wards 1, 2, 3 and 4 positions on the board.

An Aug. 14 primary election will be required in Siloam Springs because more than two candidates filed for the Ward 1 position, which encompasses the northwest part of the city. Ward 1 candidates are Fares Trinidad, Mindy Hunt and David Allen. Ward 1 Director Steve Beers is not running for reelection.

The other contested races will be decided in the general election Nov. 6. This includes the races for wards 3 and 4, which include the southeast and southwest parts of the city, respectively. Running unopposed is Brad Burns, city director for Ward 2, which includes the northeast part of the city.

Ward 4 Director Amy Smith is not seeking reelection. Lesa Brosch and Morgan Scholz are running for the Ward 4 position.

Ward 3 Director Frank Johnson is running for reelection, and he will face Marla Sappington.

The city director positions are four-year terms, with the next terms starting in 2019.