Craighead County soybean producer reappointed to Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 54 views 

The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board on Monday announced the board members and officers for 2015-2016. Bono native Shannon Davis was reappointed by Gov. Asa Hutchinson to serve on the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board.

The other board members and officers are: West Higginbothom, chairman, Marianna; Gary Sitzer, vice chairman, Weiner; Jim Carroll, Brinkley; John Freeman, Dumas; Glynn Guenther, Sherrill; Douglas Hartz, Stuttgart; Donald Morton, Jr., Des Arc; Joe Thrash, Houston.

In addition to serving on the ASPB, Jim Carroll serves as a United Soybean Board (USB) director. Derek Haigwood of Newport also serves as a USB director. Robert Stobaugh of Atkins represents ASPB on the National Biodiesel Board.

The board has a goal of improving the sustainability and profitability of the soybean industry in Arkansas as well as being responsible for distributing funds from the state’s soybean checkoff program. The checkoff funds are used primarily for research conducted through the University of Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service projects.

Arkansas ranks 10th in the nation in soybean production. Arkansas soybean farmers planted 3.3 million acres of soybeans in 41 of the state’s counties. Arkansas achieved its highest average yield in history with 50 bushels per acre, while producing a total yield of 160 million bushels.