Hutchinson Announces Members Of Computer Science Task Force

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 133 views 

Gov. Asa Hutchinson announced the members of a new Computer Science Task Force on Friday.

The purpose of the group will be to research and recommend computer science and technology courses and standards; study the computer science and technology needs of the state; and recommend strategies to meet the anticipated computer science and technology workforce needs of the state.

“This is critical in making sure the computer-science initiative we’ve started in Arkansas continues to advance and lead the nation,” said Hutchinson. “Members of this task force will guide the initiative and provide a plan to motivate and assist teachers and schools across the state.”

Members of the task force include:

  • Johnny Key, Department of Education, Commissioner of Education.
  • Tom Chilton, Arkansas Economic Development Commission, Director of Technology Development.
  • Dr. Charisse Childers, Department of Career Education, Director.
  • Brett Powell, Department of Higher Education, Director.
  • Daryl Bassett, Department of Workforce Services, Director.
  • Tim Atkinson, Arkansas Science & Technology Authority, President.
  • Carl Frank, Arkansas’s Computer Science Teachers Association, President.
  • Gary Dowdy, Arkansas Academy of Computing, President.
  • Andy Mayes, Bentonville. IT Solutions teacher, Bentonville High School, and President of Arkansas Society for Technology in Education. A High School Computer Science Teacher.
  • Suzanne Mitchell, Little Rock. Executive Director, Arkansas STEM Coalition. Representative of the Arkansas STEM Coalition.
  • Rasesh Patel, Little Rock. Director of Product Development, Acxiom. Representative in the field of computer programming.
  • Dave Wengel, Little Rock. Founder and CEO, iDatafy. At-large member.
  • John James, Fayetteville. CEO, Acumen Brands. At-large member.
  • James Hendren, Technology Startup Consultant, Self Employed. Little Rock. At-large member.
  • David Hopkins, Clarksville. Superintendent, Clarksville School District. At-large member.