GOP dominates NWA, Fort Smith legislative seats

by The City Wire staff ([email protected]) 98 views 

Political control of Arkansas’ House and Senate will be a point of numerous media stories between now and November, but Republicans are clearly in the majority in the Northwest Arkansas and Fort Smith metro areas.

Tuesday’s (May 22) primary election determined the overall winner in 18 of the 33 House and Senate districts in the two metro areas. Of the nine Senate district candidates, six will have no opponent in the general election. Five of those six are Republicans.

Of the 24 House seats that represent all or portions of the two metro areas, 12 candidates will not have opposition in November. Republicans hold 11 of those 12 seats.

Rep. Uvalde Lindsey, D-Fayetteville, and Fort Smith businessman George McGill are the only two Democrats to have secured legislative seats. Lindsey is the new State Senator in District 4 (Fayetteville and parts of Washington County) and McGill captured Arkansas House District 78 (part of Fort Smith).

The Arkansas legislature now has the smallest margin of Democratic rule since Reconstruction. House Democrats outnumber Republicans 54-46, while the State Senate has a 20-15 Democratic advantage.

Arkansas Republicans believe they are in position to capture both houses in the 2012 election cycle. To win 5 new seats in the House and just 3 in the Senate would give Republicans control of both chambers for the first time in modern political history.

Following are those in the Fort Smith and Northwest Arkansas areas who captured Senate seats as of the primary election. Their new Senate terms will begin in January 2013. (Link here to more info and maps of all House and Senate districts in the two metro areas.)
Arkansas Senate District 1 (part of Benton County)
Bart Hester (R)

Arkansas Senate District 2 (parts of Benton and Washington counties)
Jim Hendren (R)

Arkansas Senate District 3 (part of Benton County)
Sen. Cecile Bledsoe, R-Rogers

Arkansas Senate District 4 (part of Washington County
Rep. Uvalde Lindsey, D-Fayetteville

Arkansas Senate District 5
Rep. Bryan King, R-Green Forest

Arkansas Senate District 8 (part of Sebastian County)
Sen. Jake Files, R-Fort Smith

Following are those in the Fort Smith and Northwest Arkansas areas who captured House seats as of the primary election. Their new House terms will begin in January 2013.
Arkansas House District 21 (parts of Garland, Montgomery, Perry, Polk, Sebastian, Scott and Yell counties)
Rep. Terry Rice, R-Waldron

Arkansas House District 76 (part of Sebastian County)
Rep. Denny Altes, R-Fort Smith

Arkansas House District 78 (part of Sebastian County)
George McGill (D)

Arkansas House District 79 (part Crawford County)
Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh, R-Van Buren

Arkansas House District 87 (parts of Benton and Washington Counties)
Rep. Johnathan Barnett, R-Siloam Springs

Arkansas House District 90 (part of Benton County)
Rep. Les Carnine, R-Rogers

Arkansas House District 91 (part of Benton County)
Dan Douglas (R)

Arkansas House District 92 (part of Benton County)
Rep. Mary Lou Slinkard, R-Gravette

Arkansas House District 93 (part of Benton County)
Jim Dotson (R)

Arkansas House District 94 (part of Benton County)
Rep. Debra Hobbs, R-Rogers

Arkansas House District 95 (part of Benton County)
Sue Scott (R)

Arkansas House District 96 (part of Benton and Carroll Counties)
Rep. Duncan Baird, R-Lowell

Although a majority of House and Senate races in the two metro areas are already decided, 15 of the 33 remain for voters to decide in November.

Following is a list of those races.
Arkansas Senate District 6 (parts of Franklin, Johnson, Logan and Yell Counties)
Rep. Gary Stubblefield, R-Branch
John Paul Wells (D)

Arkansas Senate District 7 (part of Washington County)
Diana Gonzales Worthen (D)
Rep. Jon Woods, R-Springdale

Arkansas Senate District 9 (parts of Crawford, Scott and Sebastian Counties)
Sen. Bruce Holland, R-Greenwood
Rep. Tracy Pennartz, D-Fort Smith

House District 74 (parts of Logan, Scott and Sebastian Counties)
Daniel Wall (D)
Rep. Jon Eubanks, R-Paris

House District 75 (parts of Crawford and Sebastian Counties)
Steven Breedlove (D)
Charlotte Douglas (R)

House District 77 (part of Sebastian County)
Rep. Stephanie Malone, R-Fort Smith
Doris Tate (D)

House District 80 (parts of Crawford and Washington Counties)
Charlene Fite (R)
Jack Norton (D)

House District 81 (parts of Crawford and Washington Counties)
Wolf Grulkey (D)
Rep. Justin Harris, R-Elkins

House District 82 (parts of Franklin, Logan and Madison Counties)
Bill Gossage (R)
Rep. Leslee Milam Post, D-Ozark

House District 84 (part of Washington County)
Adella Gray (D)
Rep. Charlie Collins, R-Fayetteville

House District 85 (part of Washington County)
Paul Graham (R)
David Whitaker (D)

House District 86 (part of Washington County)
Rep. Greg Leding, D-Fayetteville
Brian Scott (R)

House District 88 (part of Washington County)
Randy Alexander (R)
Edwin Sugg (D)

House District 89 (part of Washington County)
Micah Neal (R)
Yessie Hernandez (D)

House District 97 (part of Carroll and Washington Counties)
Jeremy Miller (R)
Robert Berry (D)