Lamoureux Replaces Teague As Senate President For 2013

With Republican gains in the Arkansas Senate sweeping them into the majority, GOP State Senators replaced their designated President with one of their own.

Sen. Michael Lamoureux (R-Russellville) was chosen Thursday as the Senate President for the 2013 General Assembly months after a Democratic majority chose Sen. Larry Teague (D-Nashville) to lead their chamber.

Democrats held a 20-15 advantage over Republicans in the chamber prior to Tuesday’s elections. But the GOP picked up 6 seats putting them in charge by a 21-14 advantage.

Lamoureux had served as the Minority Leader for Republicans in the State Senate in the last session.

Teague was unopposed for re-election and will continue to serve in the State Senate.