Arkansas Economic Developers & Chamber Executives award three for service

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 864 views 

During the awards luncheon at their 2021 Annual Conference in Jonesboro, the Arkansas Economic Developers & Chamber Executives (AEDCE) on Monday (Aug. 23) recognized Julie Allen, PCED as the Outstanding Chamber Executive, Katherine Holmstrom, PCED as the Outstanding Economic Developer, and Kimberly B. Dale as Volunteer of the Year.

“Each year Arkansas Economic Developers and Chamber Executives recognizes those who have gone above and beyond in their efforts to serve their communities and the state of Arkansas,” said J.D. Lowery, President of Arkansas Economic Developers and Chamber Executives. “Whether through recruitment, promotion, or working to retain employment opportunities, these are the people in our profession we all strive to be. Congratulations to all those being honored this year.”

AEDCE awards recognize volunteer and professional economic developers and chamber executives for outstanding achievement demonstrated by significant achievements in his/her community, region, and state over the course of his/her career to include professionalism, experience, training and education, service to AEDCE and the profession.

“COVID-19 has pushed our state to the limits in all areas, but thanks to the leadership of your honorees, and to all the chambers, Arkansas is emerging from the pandemic on the firm economic foundation that chambers have been laying for years,” said Gov. Asa Hutchinson. “These winners have produced a template for robust economic development in Arkansas.”

Allen is executive director of Newport Area Chamber of Commerce, where she has served the community since 2002. She is a 1994 graduate of Arkansas State University with bachelor of science degree in communications – radio/television. Prior to her position at the chamber, she worked as a radio DJ in Jacksonville, Florida and Jonesboro. In addition to her duties as chamber director, Julie volunteers with many Newport area organizations and non-profits. She was a charter member of the Downtown Revitalization & Volunteer Improvement Effort and the Newport School District Charitable Foundation, still serving on both boards. She is treasurer of the Jackson County Humane Society, board secretary for the Newport Country Club, is current president of the Newport Rotary Club and is a Paul Harris Fellow.

Holmstrom is a senior project manager in the Business Development Division at the Arkansas Economic Development Commission (AEDC). Her primary responsibility is facilitating the growth of both new and expanding companies in Arkansas including recruitment and expansion projects. She has worked with companies such as Amazon, Lockheed Martin, Carvana, Tyson, Walmart, Mars Petcare, Aerojet Rocketdyne, SAF Holland, and Nice-Pak to help them expand or locate within the state. Katherine has 13 years of community and economic development experience in Arkansas. Prior to joining AEDC in 2011, Katherine worked for U.S. Congressman Marion Berry in several roles including constituent services, appropriations management, community development, and intergovernmental affairs. A native of DeWitt, Arkansas, she holds a Bachelor of Science degree in journalism with an emphasis in public relations and a minor in Ag Business from ASU.

Dale is a principal in the firm of Branch, Thompson, Warmath & Dale. She is a native of Rector, Arkansas and attended Arkansas State University in Jonesboro, Arkansas and the University of Arkansas at Little Rock School of Law. Kimberly received a Bachelor of Science in Corporate Finance at ASU and served as a financial analyst while attending the University of Arkansas School of Law at night.